Daisy Museum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Daisy Airguns > Questions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Help fixing a 1938B Red Ryder BB gun

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
Groupie
Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UTHorn1989 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help fixing a 1938B Red Ryder BB gun
    Posted: June-10-2020 at 8:58pm
I suspect this question comes up a lot.  I picked up a Red Ryder 1938B bb gun at an estate sale a couple of years ago.  It seems to hold compression but it won't fire a bb.  I can see the bb in the hole on the barrel.  I'm hoping I'll be able to repair this and clean it up in order to have fun shooting at targets with the two young grandsons.  I'm a newbie to working on one of these.  I'll be happy to answer any questions regarding info I should have provided but didn't.  It clearly has some rust but the lever cocks with ease so nothing that I can judge feels frozen from corrosion.  Any help, tips, links to websites/videos, etc is much appreciated.

Thanks!
Mike

PS What do people here usually use as a site to host pics?

zipper28 View Drop Down
Red Ryder Member
Red Ryder Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zipper28 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: June-10-2020 at 9:59pm
Welcome Mike
Funny thing about buying a bb gun at a garage sale or flea market is that a lot of times they don't shoot very well (if at all). Yeah you can cock them and they make a decent sound when you pull the trigger but put a bb in there and well not so good.

So to get them running again the older ones with removable shot tubes usually needed new seals, a new spring or even the abutment washer replaced or at least reset.