Forum Description: To help users communicate about Daisy Aiguns
URL: http://forum.daisymuseum.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=8184
Printed Date: April-05-2020 at 10:12am
Software Version: Web Wiz Forums 11.03 - http://www.webwizforums.com

Topic: Plastic stocks
Posted By: Gumslinger
Subject: Plastic stocks
Date Posted: March-29-2019 at 8:13pm

Hello, newbie here. I picked up a mid-fifties Red Ryder and got the Daisy bug.

The gun itself cocks & fires, but the plastic buttstock is as flat & twisted as a toothpaste tube. Needing a replacement, I sought to ID what I had (and why it warped so badly). No visible markings, so I filleted it with a Dremel into two mirror halves. This stock is a four-piece item: The stock body itself, (no markings), a false-hammer insert (no markings), a butt plate: logo MPC 2, and a trigger-spring mounted on a insert also marked MPC 2. Oddly, the plastic fore end is a crudely marked MPC 3. A logo search took me to Multiple Products Corp, a former maker of all things plastic, but no apparent ties to Daisy. A Forum search did not yield any clues. So, is this such an old topic that it is no longer discussed? Has anyone ever tackled the evolution of these plastic stocks? By the by, I learned more about warped plastics researching this buttstock than anyone needs to know--including a warning possibly relevant to Daisy collectors. Thanks for any input.

-------------
JCN

Replies:
Posted By: cobalt327
Date Posted: March-29-2019 at 10:32pm
I remember MPC from model car kits. I doubt there's much known about the evolution of plastic Daisy stocks, could be a tough nut to crack!

Posted By: BSAGuy
Date Posted: March-30-2019 at 6:17am
Hello and welcome toDaisyTalk, Gumslinger.  Great to have you here.  If you can manage it, please post some pics of your dissected stock,  that would be interesting to us all.

I would like to read your "warning possibly relevant to Daisy collectors."  That might help some of us avoid future stock problems.